Skip to page body Home Our Community Mayor and Council Departments Residents Visitors Business I want to…
Click image to view larger service areas map:
Water Purveyors Graphic
The District of West Kelowna (DWK) operates five water systems or service areas:

In addition, there are a handful of scattered independent systems in the DWK, which are neither managed nor billed by the municipality. To best determine what service area you are in, check your latest quarterly water utility bill, or call Engineering at 778-797-8840 or Utility Billing at 778-797-8850.

DWK's five service areas draw from varied sources. Lakeview has rights to draw water mainly from creeks and reservoirs in the Lambly (Bear) Creek watershed, while Westbank has permissions to draw predominantly from Powers Creek and the reservoirs in its watershed. A connection exists between Lakeview and Westbank, allowing water to be transferred in emergency situations. Ultimately, both these systems feed into the third source—Okanagan Lake—which the Pritchard, Sunnyside and West Kelowna Estates systems draw water from.
A resident takes in the breathtaking view of Okanagan Lake, the source for three of DWK's water systems.

Prior to municipal incorporation on December 7, 2007, the five largest water systems on the Westside fell under three different jurisdictions. The Regional District of Central Okanagan managed the Pritchard, Sunnyside and West Kelowna Estates systems and Westbank and Lakeview Irrigation Districts were self governed.

According to the District of West Kelowna's Letters Patent, which established the terms and conditions of municipal incorporation, the Pritchard, Sunnyside and West Kelowna systems were to be immediately folded into municipal operations, by order of the Province of British Columbia. The B.C. Government also established that the Lakeview and Westbank utilities were to be dissolved on December 31, 2010 and folded into municipal operations as of January 1, 2011.

To this end, the District of West Kelowna held joint planning sessions with both irrigation districts for nearly two years to map out the transition and ensure it was as seamless as possible for customers. Subsequently, on June 8, 2010, West Kelowna Council directed staff to establish three separate water utility funds—one for present West Kelowna water operations (Pritchard Road, Sunnyside and West Kelowna Estates) and one for each of the former irrigation districts' service areas—to be in place for a three-year period.

Given that both the Westbank and Lakeview utilities operated for so long as separate entities, with their own revenue, expenses, assets and liabilities, the three-year period will allow for time to review and monitor the funds. The separation will also mean varying user fees among West Kelowna water users and customers of the former irrigation districts. After the three-year period, staff will provide a report to Council on options going forward.


If you have questions, concerns or would like more information regarding water services and systems, please contact the District of West Kelowna's Utilities Department at:


Phone Icon 778-797-2246
Email Icon

Last updated: 12/6/2012 6:24:26 PM